304 Central Ave, Jersey City, NJ 07307
Monday to Saturday 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Frequently Asked Questions

Here you will find a list of complete and very practical answers. Don’t forget, our experts are best placed to answer your questions.
How old must I to be to take driving lessons in New Jersey ?
New Jersey residents must be a minimum of 16 years of age before they can apply for a Student Learner’s Permit. Residents 17 and older have a separate list of requirements that also must be completed. Drivers over the age of 21 must complete these steps to earn their driver’s license.
How can my 16 Year Old Child Get Their permit?
The State of New Jersey requires all eligible student driver’s who are 16 years old to be accompanied by a state certified Driving School to the MVC to receive their permit.
How can my 16 Year Old replace a lost permit?
If you are under the age of 17 and have lost your current Learner’s Permit, you must contact us directly in order to have the permit re-issued.
Do your vehicles have dual controls?
As required by the state of New Jersey, our entire fleet if vehicles is fully equipped with a dual braking system, allowing our instructors to intervene when necessary in order to keep our student drivers safe at all times.
How long after I get my permit can I start my lessons?
Falcon Driving School is proactive in making sure we are able to get classes scheduled within the first two weeks of receiving a learner’s permit.
Can I provide photocopies of my I.D. & other documents?
No. By law we are required to obtain the original documents in order to get the permit issued. We will retain these documents until the student has completed their 6 Hours of behind the wheel training. The original documents are returned to the student along with the validated learner’s permit. See this link for more information on valid identification forms.
Am I required to take the written test if I am over the age of 16?
Yes. Every student under the age of 21 is required to complete the New Jersey Licensing Program. Driver’s who are 16 years old need to complete these requirements also Driver’s who are 17 years old or older must complete these requirements
Can I use my own car for my road test?
Yes. Under most circumstances you are able to use your own vehicle for the state Road Test. Although, the vehicle you use your vehicle has a full center console. MUST have an accessible emergency brake in between the front seats IF Especially in circumstances where the center console denies access to the brake pedal for the instructor in the case of an emergency. If your car is not equipped as such, you can always contact us to use one of our vehicles for the test. Also feel free to reach out to us over the phone if you have any questions about whether or not you can use your car or ours.
I've passed my written test and completed my 6 hours of lessons, but I still need help.
Not a problem. Falcon Driving School offers the option of scheduling lessons at any time available in one or two hours time slots depending on how much more help you need.
Why do I need 6 points of ID Verification?
The 6-point ID verification is intended to help prevent identity theft. The documents required by the state are used to ensure that each driver is fully verified through documents provided by various commercial, state, and federal organizations. NJMVC Document Selector || 6 Point ID Brochure